Are you familiar with Whatsapp’s disappearing messages feature and wish to utilize it in Whatsapp? Keep reading this article to learn more about enabling disappearing messages in WhatsApp.
This “disappearing message” feature deletes all the conversations in the last seven days once it is enabled. It won’t delete any of your chats before enabling this feature. You can enable this feature either in individual chats or in a group.
This feature is for you if you are tired of saving messages and running out of capacity on your phone due to all of the photographs and texts in your conversations. It is suggested that you use it with persons you can trust.
How you Can Find Disappearing Messages
To find disappearing messages open the chat of your trusted contacts. Click one contact and tap on disappearing messages. You will see it is “off.” But when you turn it “on,” you will see it says, “Turning on this setting will make new messages disappear from this chat after seven days.
Recipients can still save these messages elsewhere. Anybody in the conversation can change this option. It just reads “You switched on disappearing messages” when you set it “on.”
Now all the messages that person sends you will disappear within 7 days.
How Disappearing Messages Work
Now, if you want to enable this feature for a chat conversation with a person, you need to do
- Go to the chat window.
- Click on the name.
- You will see a disappearing message feature.
- By default, it will be “off.”
- Tap on it and turn it “on.”
When you return, a notification will display for both users, stating that the “disappearing message function” has been enabled. WhatsApp will remove any further conversations after 7 days. The original message is cited when you reply to a message. If you reply to a message that disappears, the quoted message may stay in the conversation for 7 days.
You have to be aware that the other user can forward that message to another person. Those messages will not get deleted. The person can even take a screenshot of all the messages and save them.
He can also save the chat, which will back up all the conversations. If users create a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup.
To turn it off, you need to tap on the description written in the blue box and turn it “off” again, and there will be no new messages that will be deleted automatically. The same procedure can be done with the group, but only admins can enable or disable this feature.
When you click on the group name, vanishing messages will be turned off by default. Turned it “on” by tapping on disappearing messages.
Any other admin can turn it “on” or “off.” Any media you have downloaded in those seven days will stay on your phone, but you will not be able to download the media you have not downloaded in the seven days after it is deleted.
Whatsapp believes that if it provides the finest feature, chats will be temporary while conversing. They claim that their goal is to make the Whatsapp chat feel as real as possible, which implies that they shouldn’t have to keep communications for a long time, which is why they purchased the option to delete messages after 7 days.
How to Enable or Disable Disappearing Messages from iPhone and Android
On iPhone and Android, all you have to do is open Whatsapp, open the chat, then touch on the contact’s name at the top to enable or disable disappearing messages.
- Choose Disappearing Messages.
- Continue by tapping the Continue button.
- Choose between ON and OFF.
How to Enable Disappearing Messages On Web or Desktop
To enable disappearing messages on the web or desktop, follow these steps:
- Open a private or group chat.
- At the top, tap on the name of the contact or group.
- Select Messages That Have Disappeared
- Continue by tapping the Continue button.
- Please turn it on or off.
Frequently Asked Questions FAQs
Why do WhatsApp messages mysteriously disappear?
Answer: If a person does not open WhatsApp during the next 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days, You will lose the chat. Therefore, the message preview may remain in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.
Is it possible for someone to see whether I enable WhatsApp’s disappearing messages feature?
Answer: Everyone in the conversation, either in a group or separately, will receive a notification that you have disabled vanishing messages.
Is it true that disappearing messages delete all communications in a group?
Answer: Messages that have already been delivered or received in the conversation will not be affected by the Disappearing Messages option. In a private conversation, either user can enable or disable vanishing messages. Any group member can enable or disable vanishing messages in a group chat.
I hope this article has provided you with information on locating disappearing messages in Whatsapp, how they operate, and how to enable or disable them on your iPhones, Android devices, and web or desktop computers. Keep in mind that this feature is only suggested for people on your contact list that you can trust.